Wear Many Hats Episode 16 — Thad DeBrock

Wear Many Hats
2 min readJan 16, 2021

--

Hey everyone it’s Rashad and this is Wear Many Hats presented by DAHSAR where we talk about your main gig then we talk about your side hustle.

Thad DeBrock is a guitarist that you’ve probably heard his riffs in. Such as for acts Chromeo, St. Vincent, David Byrne, Graham Nash and wait are my notes right, Nelly?

He’s also done broadway shows such as American Psycho and The Cher Show.

Me and Thad met in Williamsburg and we used to chat about the music industry, jokes, and dating. He would come in with Graham Nash and I thought it was dad. He has performed at CBGBs and rips with PLM his new quarantine pandemic back in a truck show.

Give it up for Thad DeBrock.

I miss talking to you at the coffee shop. I was always looking forward to clowning you and knowing what date number you’re on.

You also had the best looks too.

You looked like you woke up on a tour bus, or you woke up on an air mattress but you always looked super slick with your leather jacket.

Thad is a rockstar, or a singer songwriter. Which are you? This day and age Post Malone is a rock star or Playboi Carti just loves the punk lifestyle and has based his album covers off of Slash Magazine and Charged GBH.

Indie musicians aren’t really rockstars, more like folksters.

Can singer songwriters be rockstars too?

You write for actors who want to be rockstars but they stay singer songwriters.

I wanted to be a singer songwriter but then i was like its all Gibson Songbird shit.

Guitars

So what guitars do you play, what’s your setup?

CBGB

I’ve always wanted to go to CBGB’s so bad but I was 16 when I learned all about it. If I knew it was on the Bowery growing up I would have loved to somehow get my ass to NYC and take a look of it outside haha.

So you’ve played at CBGB’s before?

Music

What kind of music do you like to play?

Obviously you have a variety of music that you play.

PLM Music Revue

What is PLM Music Revue?

When you’re not gigging or playing the guitar what do you do?

I’ve seen you run around town before which I tried to stop you but you were too fast. Just playin I didn’t want to stop you.

How we end the podcast is that if you were to get a chest tattoo quote in olde english what would your phrase be?

Can you play us a current riff or anything that you’ve been working on?

Wear Many Hats with your host Rashad presented by DAHSAR. Peace.

--

--

Wear Many Hats

Wear Many Hats is a podcast from @rashadrastam, that takes on topics such as pop culture & art. Episodes out every week if you wear many hats @dahsar